Congratulations, Principal of the Year Finalists!

By February 14, 2022 News

Today the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) named finalists for the 2022 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year. One of the finalists will receive the statewide award in May. Eight finalists are from geographic regions around the state; the ninth finalist represents the state’s charter schools.

We especially want to congratulate Maria Mills of Carolina Charter Academy, who is the finalist in the charter school category.

Here is the list of finalists from DPI:

  • Northeast: Alison Covington, South Greenville Elementary

  • Southeast: Dr. Patrick Greene, Greene Central High

  • North Central: Keith Richardson, Knightdale High

  • Sandhills: Antonio Covington, East Hoke Middle

  • Piedmont-Triad: KaTrinka Brown, Jackson Middle

  • Southwest: Larenda Denien, Idlewild Elementary

  • Northwest: Dr. Heather Melton Freeman, North Wilkes Middle

  • Western: Dr. Marsha S. Justice, Edneyville Elementary

  • Charter Schools: Maria Mills, Carolina Charter Academy

Congratulations to all! Read the full press release from DPI here.