Sallie B. Howard named National Blue Ribbon School

By September 21, 2021 News

Congratulations to Sallie B. Howard School of Arts & Science in Wilson! A public charter school and a Coalition member, Sallie B. was named a 2021 National Blue Ribbon School today. Nationwide, Sallie B. was one of 325 schools commended for exemplary performance.

Graphic: U.S. Department of Education

Access the pdf graphic here or click on the map image.

Fifteen public charter schools win Blue Ribbon Awards nationwide

In addition, Sallie B. is one of 15 public charter schools across the country to win the award. Find the list of charter school honorees here. We are so proud of Sallie B.’s accomplishments on behalf of charter school students in North Carolina!

Eight NC schools earn top honors in 2021

Blue Ribbon schools earn honors for their overall performance or for their success in closing achievement gaps over the past five years. Sallie B. was one of three N.C. schools to earn the award in the achievement gap category.

Here are the three NC winners in the achievement gap category:
  • Blue Ridge Elementary School
  • Sallie B. Howard School of Arts & Science
  • Sampson Early College High School
Here are the five N.C. winners in the overall performance category:
  • Brush Creek Elementary School
  • Elkin Middle School
  • Pearsontown Elementary School
  • Pender Early College High School
  • Union Elementary School

About the Blue Ribbon Award

Here’s the description of the Blue Ribbon Award from the U.S. Department of Education:

“The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content.  Now in its 39th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed approximately 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools.”

Learn more about all of the award winners here.

Read today’s press releases about the award from the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and the U.S. Department of Education.